IMDb > Death Race 2050 (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Death Race 2050
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Death Race 2050 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 24 reviews in total 

30 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Much better than the current 3.4 rating.

9/10
Author: bot man
11 January 2017

I saw the original Death race 2000 back in 1977, My Dad was one of the first people to get HBO back then and he let me stay up and watch Blazing saddles with him, He fell asleep then Death race 2000 came on. An R rated movie, I was 11. I loved it. the other death race sequels got it all wrong, the original was a cult B movie with a very dark sense of humor. the two sequels that followed were bad action movies.

If you liked the original Death race 2000, you will love this movie. It is as if no time has passed. It captures the same feeling and has the same wacky humor and blood and guts as the original. this is destined to be another cult classic as it was Intended to be. The acting was better than I expected. it has good cast of characters. It starts off slow but about 20 minutes in I was hooked.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

craptastic

7/10
Author: darthbalzzz from United States
22 January 2017

I like Manu Bennett so when I saw he was in this I decided to give it a shot, and I am glad I did. I see people complaining about it being so low budget, and to them I will say duh it's Roger Corman. They obviously are not familiar with him. Low budget usually means terrible, but every once in awhile a gem is released. If you have seen the original and liked it then you will like this one. If you hated the original then you will hate this one. If you have not seen the original, but you like nonsense, campy, and over the top violence then you will like this. If you do not do not watch. I really thought it was going to be just complete crap, but to my surprise it was crap, but it was fantastic. So I give it the honor of being called Craptastic. Not many movies make my list of craptastic, but when they do they are a must see.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

A subtle masterpiece

10/10
Author: Declan McCann
14 January 2017

The Village Voice said this "is the only movie that matters in 2017" and with only two weeks into the year, they very well may be right. Death Race 2050 is set in a well thought out dystopic near-future, masked with a ridiculously fantastic premise. I loved this movie and give it 10/10 because it accomplished what it set out to do, with many subtle threads and social commentaries. The humour can be silly without being stupid, the political and social messages are profound without being preachy, the casting is great, and the acting is perfectly dialed in. The movie has an uplifting and inspiring conclusion despite not taking itself seriously all the way through. If given a chance, it will gain a cult following similar to "Idiocracy."

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Snarky, True, and Well Thought Out

10/10
Author: industrialwonk from London England
2 February 2017

Death Race 2050 addresses some of the less than savory trends that are now both operative and readily apparent in our semi-functional somewhat- dysfunctional society. Technology has caused self-absorbed people to live vicariously through others and in the process have become lost in their own "virtual reality." This movie points of the fact that corporate propaganda, ignorance, feminism, identity politics,, religion asexuality, selective fact choosing,and big data feedback have caused our society to degrade and to lose a understandable- controllable overview. Almost every line of dialogue, scene, visual (map), and character (zealot, hedonist, AI, voyeur, executive) in this movie have been crafted to explain and bring to light the current trend. Truth can be unpalatable even when presented in humorous and snarky manner. Unfortunately, the people that do not understand this movie are the people in need of it the most.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Throwback awesomeness

9/10
Author: nothingmusic42
19 January 2017

this is a 70's B/ grindhouse movie throwback in the best way possible. Manu Bennett is awesome as always, Perfectus was the perfect foil, Malcolm McDowell was hamming it up as only he can, and it was just genuinely a ton of fun. they went old school for the special effects,and it works for the tone of the movie. face on shots into the cars in front of obvious green screen, body parts that are obviously fake, tiny skips between vehicles crashing and then exploding. these techniques were done in just the right way to bring back the nostalgia feels if you grew up on classing cheesy cult movies. the storyline isn't a carbon copy of Death Race 2000, and throws in a few nice swerves. the social commentary is still there. seeing some of the new names for areas in America was a running joke that kept getting funnier the further West the races went. from the intentionally dated special effects,to the biting political satire, this is a worthy successor to the classic cult movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

An excellent B-movie in the tradition of They Live and Robocp

10/10
Author: vkaufold from United States
24 January 2017

This is the Thing. If you ever loved a B movie --for the right reasons-- this is the Golden Glove. If you like They Live, if you like Robocop, Machete... you may have a new favorite. Not only is it freakishly on point for the new Trump epoch, it also has a very elusive ingredient for B-movies : Intelligent writing!

Now keep in mind the film is satirizing a culture of stupidity, violence, and greed, so you have to look closely for the intelligence hiding behind the explosions and vulgarity, but it's there, sometimes winking at you from behind a flaming haystack.

It's the abundance and timing of the jokes, both subtle and sometimes deliciously brutal, that should warrant a justified cult following for this jam.

What's that? You didn't come to this movie for jokes? For sly throwaway gags about a dystopian future? No problem. There are so many other movies where big men drive cars that go fast. Please watch one of them instead if that is your thing. Leave this rare movie for me and my people. We need it.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Amazing as long as you have the right perspective and have seen the original

8/10
Author: videodan32 from United States
24 January 2017

OK. So it is cheap. The effects are terrible. The acting OK. The music choices vary in quality. Now that I got that out of the way....

This remake was fantastic and amazingly true in tone to the original making many improvements along the way. No spoilers here except to say that the updates made sense, the characters were fun, and everyone seemed to be having a good time making it. Malcolm McDowell did what he does so well playing the villain.

It was episodic, but so was the original. You get the feeling that the director studied the original for what worked, then brought that and a lot more into the remake. Roger Cormen and his daughter produced, so you know it was made by the right people (Cormen produced the original as well)

If you did not like it, you would not have liked the original. It was a worthy remake that reminds us what a lot of imagination can do on a limited budget. Cormen devotees should be thrilled.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Way better than the original at this point..

6/10
Author: adonis98-743-186503 from Greece
17 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The year 2050 the planet has become overpopulated, to help control population the government develops a race. The Death Race. Annually competitors race across the country scoring points for killing people with their vehicles. Death Race 2050 is finally here and it's not as bad as i thought it was going to be, let me start with the good stuff first Manu Bennett as Frankenstein was great he did a good job if you enjoyed his performance in Arrow you will enjoy his performance in Death Race 2050 as well also Marci Miller as Annie was really great as well i found her character to be very interesting and useful and she helped way more than the original Annie did in Death Race 2000 also some of the action and humor were actually pretty good but the rest of the film is well kinda terrible with many actors being over the top and awful like Burt Grinstead as Perfectus, Yancy Butler as Hamilton and Malcolm McDowell as the Chairman, certain characters and death scenes were campy as hell there's even a woman that finds pleasure by the actual car for some reason. But that's the good thing about Death Race 2050 it's a reboot and although it's definitely better than the original in terms of action and casting the 2 leads is the exact same film again but a bit more campy with more violence and lots of green screen but overall i found myself enjoying it and believe me it's not a masterpiece just like the first one wasn't i mean how can this have a 3.2 and the original has a 6.2? It's the same film except some new stuff like characters and a bit more violence but other than that it's the same movie. If you want to see a dumb and campy action movie full of gore and cartoony villains this is the movie for you if not go check out the Death Race from 2008 starring Jason Statham because that in my opinion is the best of the whole franchise!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

VIEWS ON FILM review of Death Race 2050

4/10
Author: viewsonfilm.com from United States
22 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Drive drive, kill kill, drive drive". That's a song lyric and/or spoken line from Death Race 2050 (my latest review). Split screens, a game of "chicken", Malcolm McDowell surrounded by topless women wearing a topless toupee, virtual reality as an audience medium, video game likeness. "Race 2050" has it all. Sadly, it's an elevated form of cinematic torture, pure torture.

First off, I wonder what Sylvester Stallone might think of this uninspired, post-dated sequel to 1975's drive-in sensation, Death Race 2000. Currently, it's a straight-to-video release so I'm sure he might have been too busy to check it out.

Anyway, the producer of "Race 2050" is 90-year-old Roger Corman. The days of his Boxcar Bertha are long gone. Now, he really needs to check himself. This film is truly bad camp and frankly, I don't get how it could have any appeal whatsoever. Death Race 2050 starts off 2017 in a lousy way. Call it the nonchalant face of death and destruction. Heck, deem it the bastardized lovechild of The Running Man, the bloodied up version of The Cannonball Run, The Road Warrior for the radically inept, or the more violent, trenchant mirror of something like 1971's 200 Motels. This is hyper satire but not entertainment folks. That's unless you're under the influence of some heavy drugs (I don't endorse that notion just so you know).

Now the characters in Death Race 2050, are remorseless, unfeeling, and brainwashed. They arrive in their automobiles with the B movie techniques of rear projection and bluescreen totally evident. Their acting is hammy and shoddy. The soundtrack to "Race 2050" is I guess, annoying heavy metal rock. Finally, the cars featured (the title has "race" in it so go figure) are pointed and atypical. Within "Race 2050's" plot workings, heads are severed, torsos are cut in half, and blood spattering is cartoon-like. It's all fun and games till someone gets hurt. Oh yeah, everyone gets hurt and dies without so much as a whimper (or empathy for that matter).

Silly, over of the top, and taking place in the year 2050 (duh), Death Race 2050 makes you long for something more akin to 2008's remake of Death Race 2000 simply titled, Death Race. That film wasn't really good to begin with. However, it at least took itself seriously enough to be made for somewhat compelling viewing. "Race 2050'" tries to be compelling in its last half. It even throws around the terms "Resistance" and "rebels". Futile attempt (ha ha). Don't the producers know that this is something already taken from the Star Wars franchise? Natch.

Lack of originality and kookiness aside, "Race 2050's" cast is comprised of Malcolm McDowell playing the same, sadistic monitor that he channeled in last year's 31. And look for Drop Zone's Yancy Butler in a small yet overacted role (it's sad that "Zone" is the last flick I remember her being in). As for the special effects, well they are cheesy and caricaturish and you know what, I think the filmmakers wanted it that way. Ugh.

All in all, the story concerning Death Race 2050, is about planet Earth being post-apocalyptic and overpopulated. America has renamed its 50 states (Arkansas is now called "Walmartinique") and in order to control said population, drivers compete in an annual "Death Race". Basically, they drive across country while killing everyday denizens with their slickly automobiles (they hastily score points too, double ugh). The main trouper is Frankenstein played by New Zealand-born Manu Bennett. He's like Mel Gibson with a big fat frog in his throat. You know what, I'm just gonna refrain from going on and on. Here's my overall rating: 1 and a half stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Crazy and campy.

6/10
Author: MonsterVision99 from Mexico
18 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I love the original "Death Race 2000", the remake was OK, but I wanted the Death Race series to go back to it's origins, I wanted another death race movie that takes place in a dystopian future, and I got it. "Death Race 2025" it's a very enjoyable modern day grindhouse film, it's quite campy and over-the-top, but that's why its so fun.

The film its a pseudo-remake of the original movie, it follows the same plot, but I guess it takes place 25 years after the original, anyway, the film has a very interesting collection of characters, but my favorite has always been "Frankenstein", I loved him in the first movie and in the other movies he's fine, but they can't compare with the original, here he's played by Manu Bennett, who does a good job at portraying the character, I didn't have too much of a problem with the other performances (that may be because I watched the film with the Spanish dub).

The film biggest problem it's the disjointed editing, but of course it's bad, it was meant to be bad, the only thing I can compare this film to it's to a Troma movie, and I just love Troma movies, so of course I was going to like this one.

It's better than the average campy exploitation film but it doesn't do anything new either, its severely flawed (even if most of it it's intentional), but I found it quite entertaining.

I would recommend the film for those who love campy and trashy films, like Troma movies, but for those who want a genuinely good action film, don't even bother.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history