IMDb > Death Race 2050 (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Death Race 2050
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Death Race 2050 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 29 reviews in total 

34 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Much better than the current 3.4 rating.

9/10
Author: bot man
11 January 2017

I saw the original Death race 2000 back in 1977, My Dad was one of the first people to get HBO back then and he let me stay up and watch Blazing saddles with him, He fell asleep then Death race 2000 came on. An R rated movie, I was 11. I loved it. the other death race sequels got it all wrong, the original was a cult B movie with a very dark sense of humor. the two sequels that followed were bad action movies.

If you liked the original Death race 2000, you will love this movie. It is as if no time has passed. It captures the same feeling and has the same wacky humor and blood and guts as the original. this is destined to be another cult classic as it was Intended to be. The acting was better than I expected. it has good cast of characters. It starts off slow but about 20 minutes in I was hooked.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

craptastic

7/10
Author: darthbalzzz from United States
22 January 2017

I like Manu Bennett so when I saw he was in this I decided to give it a shot, and I am glad I did. I see people complaining about it being so low budget, and to them I will say duh it's Roger Corman. They obviously are not familiar with him. Low budget usually means terrible, but every once in awhile a gem is released. If you have seen the original and liked it then you will like this one. If you hated the original then you will hate this one. If you have not seen the original, but you like nonsense, campy, and over the top violence then you will like this. If you do not do not watch. I really thought it was going to be just complete crap, but to my surprise it was crap, but it was fantastic. So I give it the honor of being called Craptastic. Not many movies make my list of craptastic, but when they do they are a must see.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 48 people found the following review useful:

A subtle masterpiece

10/10
Author: Declan McCann
14 January 2017

The Village Voice said this "is the only movie that matters in 2017" and with only two weeks into the year, they very well may be right. Death Race 2050 is set in a well thought out dystopic near-future, masked with a ridiculously fantastic premise. I loved this movie and give it 10/10 because it accomplished what it set out to do, with many subtle threads and social commentaries. The humour can be silly without being stupid, the political and social messages are profound without being preachy, the casting is great, and the acting is perfectly dialed in. The movie has an uplifting and inspiring conclusion despite not taking itself seriously all the way through. If given a chance, it will gain a cult following similar to "Idiocracy."

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Snarky, True, and Well Thought Out

10/10
Author: industrialwonk from London England
2 February 2017

Death Race 2050 addresses some of the less than savory trends that are now both operative and readily apparent in our semi-functional somewhat- dysfunctional society. Technology has caused self-absorbed people to live vicariously through others and in the process have become lost in their own "virtual reality." This movie points out the fact that corporate propaganda, ignorance, feminism, identity politics,, religion asexuality, selective fact choosing,and big data feedback have caused our society to degrade and to lose a understandable- controllable overview.

Almost every line of dialogue, scene, visual (map), and character (zealot, hedonist, AI, voyeur, executive) in this movie have been crafted to explain and bring to light the current trend. Truth can be unpalatable even when presented in humorous and snarky manner. Unfortunately, the people that do not understand this movie are the people in need of it the most.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Amazing as long as you have the right perspective and have seen the original

8/10
Author: videodan32 from United States
24 January 2017

OK. So it is cheap. The effects are terrible. The acting OK. The music choices vary in quality. Now that I got that out of the way....

This remake was fantastic and amazingly true in tone to the original making many improvements along the way. No spoilers here except to say that the updates made sense, the characters were fun, and everyone seemed to be having a good time making it. Malcolm McDowell did what he does so well playing the villain.

It was episodic, but so was the original. You get the feeling that the director studied the original for what worked, then brought that and a lot more into the remake. Roger Cormen and his daughter produced, so you know it was made by the right people (Cormen produced the original as well)

If you did not like it, you would not have liked the original. It was a worthy remake that reminds us what a lot of imagination can do on a limited budget. Cormen devotees should be thrilled.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Throwback awesomeness

9/10
Author: nothingmusic42
19 January 2017

this is a 70's B/ grindhouse movie throwback in the best way possible. Manu Bennett is awesome as always, Perfectus was the perfect foil, Malcolm McDowell was hamming it up as only he can, and it was just genuinely a ton of fun. they went old school for the special effects,and it works for the tone of the movie. face on shots into the cars in front of obvious green screen, body parts that are obviously fake, tiny skips between vehicles crashing and then exploding. these techniques were done in just the right way to bring back the nostalgia feels if you grew up on classing cheesy cult movies. the storyline isn't a carbon copy of Death Race 2000, and throws in a few nice swerves. the social commentary is still there. seeing some of the new names for areas in America was a running joke that kept getting funnier the further West the races went. from the intentionally dated special effects,to the biting political satire, this is a worthy successor to the classic cult movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Crazy and campy.

6/10
Author: MonsterVision99 from Mexico
18 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I love the original "Death Race 2000", the remake was OK, but I wanted the Death Race series to go back to it's origins, I wanted another death race movie that takes place in a dystopian future, and I got it. "Death Race 2025" it's a very enjoyable modern day grindhouse film, it's quite campy and over-the-top, but that's why its so fun.

The film its a pseudo-remake of the original movie, it follows the same plot, but I guess it takes place 25 years after the original, anyway, the film has a very interesting collection of characters, but my favorite has always been "Frankenstein", I loved him in the first movie and in the other movies he's fine, but they can't compare with the original, here he's played by Manu Bennett, who does a good job at portraying the character, I didn't have too much of a problem with the other performances (that may be because I watched the film with the Spanish dub).

The film biggest problem it's the disjointed editing, but of course it's bad, it was meant to be bad, the only thing I can compare this film to it's to a Troma movie, and I just love Troma movies, so of course I was going to like this one.

It's better than the average campy exploitation film but it doesn't do anything new either, its severely flawed (even if most of it it's intentional), but I found it quite entertaining.

I would recommend the film for those who love campy and trashy films, like Troma movies, but for those who want a genuinely good action film, don't even bother.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Way better than the original at this point..

6/10
Author: adonis98-743-186503 from Greece
17 January 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The year 2050 the planet has become overpopulated, to help control population the government develops a race. The Death Race. Annually competitors race across the country scoring points for killing people with their vehicles. Death Race 2050 is finally here and it's not as bad as i thought it was going to be, let me start with the good stuff first Manu Bennett as Frankenstein was great he did a good job if you enjoyed his performance in Arrow you will enjoy his performance in Death Race 2050 as well also Marci Miller as Annie was really great as well i found her character to be very interesting and useful and she helped way more than the original Annie did in Death Race 2000 also some of the action and humor were actually pretty good but the rest of the film is well kinda terrible with many actors being over the top and awful like Burt Grinstead as Perfectus, Yancy Butler as Hamilton and Malcolm McDowell as the Chairman, certain characters and death scenes were campy as hell there's even a woman that finds pleasure by the actual car for some reason. But that's the good thing about Death Race 2050 it's a reboot and although it's definitely better than the original in terms of action and casting the 2 leads is the exact same film again but a bit more campy with more violence and lots of green screen but overall i found myself enjoying it and believe me it's not a masterpiece just like the first one wasn't i mean how can this have a 3.2 and the original has a 6.2? It's the same film except some new stuff like characters and a bit more violence but other than that it's the same movie. If you want to see a dumb and campy action movie full of gore and cartoony villains this is the movie for you if not go check out the Death Race from 2008 starring Jason Statham because that in my opinion is the best of the whole franchise!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

An excellent B-movie in the tradition of They Live and Robocp

10/10
Author: vkaufold from United States
24 January 2017

This is the Thing. If you ever loved a B movie --for the right reasons-- this is the Golden Glove. If you like They Live, if you like Robocop, Machete... you may have a new favorite. Not only is it freakishly on point for the new Trump epoch, it also has a very elusive ingredient for B-movies : Intelligent writing!

Now keep in mind the film is satirizing a culture of stupidity, violence, and greed, so you have to look closely for the intelligence hiding behind the explosions and vulgarity, but it's there, sometimes winking at you from behind a flaming haystack.

It's the abundance and timing of the jokes, both subtle and sometimes deliciously brutal, that should warrant a justified cult following for this jam.

What's that? You didn't come to this movie for jokes? For sly throwaway gags about a dystopian future? No problem. There are so many other movies where big men drive cars that go fast. Please watch one of them instead if that is your thing. Leave this rare movie for me and my people. We need it.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Death Race 2050

5/10
Author: Argemaluco from Argentina
27 February 2017

From the title itself, the movie proudly proclaims: "ROGER CORMAN'S Death Race 2050". However, this movie doesn't have the characteristic attributes from this legendary producer, whom I have admired practically my whole life, since I saw his name over and over again in the horror and science fiction films I obsessively consumed when I was a kid. Sure, Corman has always worked with very limited resources, and his movies have rarely been masterpieces; but at the same time, they made an effort to reach an artistic and dramatic level which didn't insult the audience's intelligence; or, in the worst of the cases, Corman tried to avoid the cons to become obstacles for the entertainment of the audience. Unfortunately, Death Race 2050 doesn't make the slightest effort to keep that standard, and the result is a tedious experience with confusing action and a weak political message. The problem isn't the low budget of Death Race 2050, but the absolute incompetence from director G.J. Echternkamp to follow the "Corman method" to adjust the ambition of the movie and apply ingenuity to dissimulate the lack of money. On the opposite, Death Race 2050 follows the principles of the studio The Asylum ("let's do it intentionally bad"), and the result tramples the legacy of the original Death Race 2000, recycling its story without a pinch of that black humor, narrative integrity or political subversion. For the rest, the performances are quite poor (yes, even the one from Malcolm McDowell, the only famous member of the cast), the special effects are awful and the insipid violence lacks of any impact or excitement. I know that Corman is very old nowadays (he will turn 91 in April), and he probably had nothing to do with the real production of Death Race 2050 (besides of lending his name). Nevertheless, I still expected Death Race 2050 to follow his directive of achieving very much with very little; instead of that, I ended up watching a boring film which seems made by The Asylum or the TV channel SyFy.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history